Palm Springs Film Fest: Cast of ‘Imitation Game’ Picked as Year’s Top Ensemble

Palm Springs Film Fest: Cast of ‘Imitation Game’ Picked as Year’s Top Ensemble

The casts of ‘American Hustle,’ ‘Argo,’ ‘The Social Network’ and ‘Babel’ were previously accorded this honor

The cast of The Weinstein Co.’s The Imitation GameBenedict Cumberbatch, KeiraKnightley, Matthew Goode, Rory Kinnear,Allen Leech, Matthew Beard,Charles Dance and Mark Strong — will receive this year’s Ensemble Performance Award at the Palm Springs International Film Festival’s 26th annual PSIFF Awards Gala on Jan. 3. The fest will run Jan. 2-12.

Previous recipients of PSIFF’s Ensemble Performance Award include best picture Oscar winner Argo (2012) and best picture Oscar nominees American Hustle(2013), The Social Network (2010) and Babel (2006).

The Imitation Game is one of the very best ensembles to grace the screen this season,” PSIFF chairman Harold Matzner said in a statement. “Benedict Cumberbatch and KeiraKnightley lead an outstanding cast.”

PSIFF previously announced that Boyhood‘s writer-director Richard Linklater will receive this year’s Visionary Award, Wild‘s lead actress Reese Witherspoon will receive this year’s Chairman’s Award, The Theory of Everything‘s lead actor Eddie Redmayneand Still Alice‘s lead actress Julianne Moore will receive this year’s Desert Palm Achievement awards, that Whiplash‘s supporting actor J.K. Simmons will receive this year’s Spotlight Award and that Rosamund Pike will be honored with its Breakthrough Performance Award.

Source: The Hollywood Reporter